InMAT Web logo 275x90


 Duncan McAlpineMessage from the Chair of Governors

I have been a member of the governing body since 23rd November 2015. My background is in education. I was a Headteacher of a local primary school for 26 years. I left the school in July 2014, and now work as an Associate Lecturer at the University of Northampton, working with students who are training to be teachers.

I am pleased to be involved with the Abbey Primary School. When I spend time in the school I am impressed with the hardworking and dedicated adults and the excellent behaviour of the children and how hard they work in their lessons.

I feel honoured to have been chosen to be Chair of Governors, and I look forward to working with the Senior Leadership Team as we work towards taking our school from Good to Outstanding.

Mr Duncan McAlpine
Chair of Governors - The Abbey Primary School

If you wish to contact Mr McAlpine please call the school office on 01604 660100.

Further information on InMAT Trust Governance can be found at

Details of the Governing Body members are as follows:

Name and type of Governor ResponsibilityCommitteeFirst appointedCurrent term endsAppointed byDeclared interestsAttendance at Full LAC Meetings 2020/2021Attendance at TLO Meetings

Mr Duncan McAlpine

Co-opted Governor

Chair of Governors

English Lead Governor

PP Lead Governor


 25/04/2019  24/04/2023 LAC None declared  100% 100%

Mr Aklis Rahman

Parent Governor

Vice-Chair of Governors

EYFS link Governor


24/02/2021 23/02/2025 



Parent of a pupil in school  57% 100%

Mrs Renuka Popat




 01/09/2006   LAC None declared  100% 100%

Mrs Caroline Farmer

Staff Governor




 01/01/2020  31/12/2023 Staff  Related to pupil/staff member in school  100% 100%
Mrs Sarah Alexander

Co-opted Governor
SEND lead

Year 4 link
  25/04/2019 24/04/2023 LAC None declared  100% N/A

Mr Stuart Coe

Co-opted Governor

Health and Safety Lead

Year 2 link

  25/04/2019 24/04/2023 LAC None declared  100% N/A
Mrs Sarah Cave

Co-opted Governor
Maths lead

Chair of TLO committee
TLO 08/10/2019 07/10/2023 LAC Works for University of Northampton - The Abbey Primary is a partnership school  86% 100%
Mr James Farquhar

Associate Governor
Sports grant lead

Year 6 link
  08/10/2019 07/10/2023 LAC None declared  71% N/A
Mrs Natalie Owen

Staff Governor
Staff TLO 08/10/2019 07/10/2023 Staff None declared  100% 100%
Mrs Anne Rose

Associate Governor
Safeguarding Lead Governor   26/11/2019 25/11/2023 LAC None declared 86% N/A
Miss Sam Collins

Parent Governor
    24/02/2021 23/02/2025 Parents Parent of a pupil in school 100% N/A

Mrs Becky Finch

Clerk to the Governing Body

          Employed by 3 other Local Academy Committees.
Employed by an InMAT school
 N/A N/A

Governor Meeting Dates

No events found

Governor Hub Link

Governors Information